WRITING: Where do you get your ideas?

I’ve always enjoyed stories about assassins, but my opinion on assassin differed from the books I read. Since most fictional assassins are antagonists, they are often warped individuals, with freaky childhoods. However, I’ve come across mercenaries (basically the same field), who are pretty regular people. Sure their view of the world differs from ordinary citizens, but they’re not ‘warped’. This made me want to write about an assassin who has no deep-seated frustration or abused childhood, but who just realized that killing was what she was good at and who had the appropriate world view and lack of conscience to pull it off.

Another influence was an idea I had about a street musician pretending to be blind to increase his income, who is the involuntary witness to a murder. This character changed into a real blind person unwittingly entering the kill site of an assassin.

3 Comments on “WRITING: Where do you get your ideas?”

  1. […] who would love to write a book, if only they had the time. Of course, the idiocy gets balanced by people who are genuinely awed by a writer’s ability to create stories and characters ‘ou… and readers writing you about the character they like the most and ask if that character will be […]

    Like

  2. An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a colleague who has been doing a little research on this.
    And he in fact ordered me breakfast simply because I found it for him…
    lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanks for spending the time to talk about this matter here on your blog.

    Like

  3. […] Peccadillo in three months, spending a total of fifteen months on writing it. I wrote the novella Locked Room in three weeks. Microchip Murder took me less than two. And the novella that gets the highest […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

